Hero Runs for Coventry

Haroon had just been awarded City of Coventry’s Good Citizen award when he agrees to meet me in the busy student union. His prompt reply to my email that morning gave me a first glimpse into his get-up-and-go character, a trait that’s certainly been useful in helping him complete over 30 marathons. He told me we’d have to meet up soon, because he’s jetting off to Palestine the following week to run another. I made sure to arrive early.

Haroon Mota is an active fundraiser for the charity Penny Appeal, who work to bring aid to less developed nations including organising mass feedings and providing emergency medical aid, helping to break the poverty cycle. He’s planning on running the half marathon in the city at the weekend, along with over 80 people in #teamorange who are also raising money for the charity. Since he first ran it in 2001, Haroon has since been trying to bring more diversity to the run. “I found it strange that living in a very diverse city, I was still the odd one out… the next time I ran I wanted to try bring more ethnic minorities with me. I’ve been doing that every year since.”

The Good Citizen Award is the first award that Haroon has received, and he’s excited to be the first Muslim winner since the awards were created in 2001. He told me how special the award is to him, and that “charity is a big part of my faith and I’m proud to represent my religion.”

Last year he completed 4 marathons in just 3 weeks and raised £28,000 for Penny Appeal, one of the main reasons he received the award. Since he was headhunted 2 and a half years ago, he’s raised over a million for the charity.

FINAL IMAGE
Haroon running through his local park in Coventry

 

On Friday we find out that the half marathon is cancelled because of the snow. Not letting it stop him, Haroon sets out on Sunday morning to run 18 miles, but first we manage to squeeze in a photoshoot. Despite the freezing temperatures and snow falling, he’s all smiles and energy as he jogs around a couple laps of the park. I ask how. “When you’re running a lot of things go through your mind: I ask myself ‘what am I doing this for?’,” he smiles, “but you have to combat these thoughts, think positive, and remember the charity.”

He told me that Penny Appeal’s belief of ‘a small change makes a big difference’ is also close to his heart. His favourite part of the journey has been the support and messages on social media, as well as the amount of people willing to help and bring that ‘small change’ his charity believes in.

Haroon is always looking for people to join in his work and help raise money. “I always like encouraging and motivating people, even before my job,” he confesses that since joining the charity he’s had little time to run for himself, and it’s one of the things he’s looking forward to this year. Alongside climbing Everest.

 

(A 500 word digital feature profiling a local hero)

 

Leave a comment